Paedophilia & Underage Marriage legalised?!: Nigeria has finally lost it!

published on Saturday, 20 July 2013

Y'all must have seen the following quotes going around;

Dress her up to school, DON'T undress her to bed! #ChildNotBride

#ChildNotBride...Give her a pen not penis...Ask for her books not boobs...Pay her school fees not bride price.

Well, you must have also heard that on the 17th of July the Senate passed a law that a woman to be married doesn't have to be 18years of age before she can be married! Imagine?

It's obvious that the Nigerian Senate has misplaced priorities. There are real issues facing Nigeria as a nation but they choose to occupy themselves with impertinent issues and passing ridiculous bills like antigay marriage laws (with 14years sentence) and a law legalising under age marriage. Do they even sound like serious-minded individuals? It's their likes that went to beat each other up in Rivers State.

A few days ago, on the 17th July, the Senate voted to stipulate that a woman shall not be qualified for marriage until she is 18 years old. The former Governor of Zamfara State, now Senator Ahmad Sani Yarima opposed this ruling claiming it violates Islamic law. The same Senator Yerima in 2009 married a 13 year old girl. He justified his actions by citing that according to Islamic law he was doing nothing wrong. His opposition led the Senate to amend the age specification on the law, leaving it open even to infants. The new law, however now, states that; "A woman is deemed to be "full of age" once she is married irrespective of the age she did so." Imagine? The law indirectly legalises paedophilia! Are they blind or just plain daft? Now, any man can just marry any little girl he deems fit! It doesn't make sense!

A Petition has however been created. Pls sign it and let's remove this useless law. Let's Help The United Nations Stop The Nigerian Senate Repeal This Law!

To SIGN online the ChildNotBride Petition go to #NaPikinNoBeWife

Here's a list of the pro-underage bride senators I got from ;

1. Sen. Abdulmumin M. Hassan (Jigawa South West, PDP)

2. Sen. Abdullahi Danladi (Jigawa North West, PDP)

3. Sen. Adamu Abdullahi (Nasarawa West, PDP)

4. Sen. Ahmed Barata (Adamawa South, PDP)

5. Sen. Akinyelure Ayo (Ondo Central, Labour Party)

6. Sen. Alkali Saidu A. (Gombe North, PDP)

7. Sen. Bagudu Abubakar A. (Kebbi Central, PDP)

8. Sen. Dahiru Umaru (Sokoto South, PDP)

9. Sen. Galaudu Isa (Kebbi North, PDP)

10. Sen. Garba Gamawa (Bauchi North, PDP)

11. Sen. Danjuma Goje Mohammed (Gombe Central, PDP)

12. Sen. Gobir Ibrahim (Sokoto East, PDP)

13. Sen. Gumba Adamu Ibrahim (Bauchi South, PDP)

14. Sen. Hadi Sirika (Katsina North, CPC)

15. Sen. Ibrahim Bukar Abba (Yobe East, ANPP)

16. Sen. Jajere Alkali (Yobe South, ANPP)

17. Sen. Jibrilla Mohammed (Adamawa North, PDP)

18. Sen. Kabiru Gaya (Kano South, ANPP)

19. Sen. Lafiagi Mohammed (Kwara North, PDP)

20. Sen. Lawan Ahmad (Yobe North, ANPP)

21. Sen. Maccido Mohammed (Sokoto North, PDP)

22. Sen. Musa Ibrahim (Niger North, CPC)

23. Sen. Ndume Mohammed Ali (Borno South, PDP)

24. Sen. Sadiq A. Yaradua (Katsina Central, CPC)

25. Sen. Saleh Mohammed (Kaduna Central, CPC)

26. Sen. Tukur Bello (Adamawa Central, PDP)

27. Sen. Ugbesia Odion (Edo Central, PDP)

28. Sen. Umar Abubakar (Taraba Central, PDP)

29. Sen. Usman Abdulaziz (Jigawa North East, PDP)

30. Sen. Ya'au Sahabi (Zamfara North, PDP)

31. Sen. Zannah Ahmed (Borno Central, PDP)

32. Sen. Ahmad Rufai Sani (Zamfara West, ANPP)

33. Sen. Ahmad Abdul Ningi (Bauchi Central, PDP)

34. Sen. Bello Hayatu Gwano (Kano North, PDP)

35. Sen. Ibrahim Abu (Katsina South, CPC)